Tags

, , ,

I am traveling this weekend for a friend’s consecration as Suffragan Bishop and for a week of spiritual retreat.  Because my daughter is traveling with me and spending the week with her grandfather, the logistics planning has been a bit of a nightmare.  At points over the last two weeks, I have been longing to just get there and be done with all this chaos.  The trip itself is sort of the light at the end of a dark tunnel of details.

How often we do this with any sort of getaway.  We spend so much energy getting ready for the trip – settling details at work and at home, packing, and securing plans for the trip – that our time in the present is a bit of a blur.  That has been my reality lately.  In the midst of my tunnel of details, some pretty incredible things have been happening.  In the last week alone, I met with a group of aspirants, considering a calling to ordained ministry, I watched my daughter perform in the end-of-year concert at school, I went to my daughter’s first musical, I celebrated a fantastic year of service from our devoted Altar Guild, we recognized our choir for all their hard work this year, I finally met the first rector of my parish who has shaped the lives of so many of my parishioners, and I spent some time with a couple preparing for marriage.  Add to that a date night – the first one my husband and I have had in about six months – and it has been a pretty fantastic week.

I wonder how often we do this in life.  We get so caught up in the routine, or our full schedules, or our worries of the day, that we forget to see God at work in our lives, blessing us abundantly.  That tunnel of darkness can create tunnel vision.  Our eyes become so focused forward that we miss everything around us.  But God is in the midst of everything around us, beckoning us into a life of joy and celebration – a presence of mind that can recognize God’s presence.  Though I am very much looking forward to this coming week, I am especially grateful just for today.  I am grateful to God for the abundant blessings in my life and grateful for the God who has enough patience and grace for a busybody like me.

If you have spent much time with me, you may have noticed that I begin most of my prayers with these words, “Gracious God, thank you for the gift of this day…”  Today, I am trying to live into that prayer, being grateful for each and every day God gives me.

